AFI Logo

5th to 9th July in Association with AAA

Rich legacy of stars bursting upon the scene in AAA Championships

The beautiful city of Bhubaneswar, capital of Odisha State in India, will proudly host of the 22nd Asian Athletics Championships, its Kalinga Stadium providing a platform for the continent’s best track and field stars to parade their talent. The earlier editions of the biennial competition – the event was not held in 1977 – have seen a galaxy of stars hold centrestage.

Qataris Ibrahim Ismail (400m), Mohamed Suleiman (1500m) Bilal Saad Mubarak (shot put) to Chinese high hurdler Liu Xiang and high jumper Zhu Jianhua to Kuwaiti shotput hero Mohammed Al-Zinkawi and Japanese hammer thrower Koji Mirofushi and from India’s versatile sprinter and hurdler PT Usha to Chinese distance runner Wang Junxia and javelin thrower Li Lei are among those who have dominated the Asian Championships.

The Asian Athletic Association of the IAAF was formed during the Asian Games in Tokyo in 1958 and though Maj Gen Aziz Salleh of Indonesia, Tan Sri Mohamed Ghazali Shafie of Malaysia and titan of Indian athletics Sardar Umrao Singh worked hard to get the first Asian Track and Field Championships off the blocks, it was not until more than a decade later that it attained fruition.

Having not met success in 1962, 1966 and 1970, officials of Asian athletics met during the 1972 Olympic Games in Munich with renewed determination. The Philippines Track and Field Association President Jose C. Sering took up the challenge and conducted the inaugural Asian Track and Field Championships in the Marikina Stadium near Manila in November 1973.

The Constitution of the Asian Amateur Athletic Association and the rules for the Asian Track and Field Championships were ratified at the First Asian AAA Congress in Manila on November 20 and 21, 1973. Mr. Jose C. Sering became the first President of the Asian Amateur Athletic Association and Mr. Maurice R. Nicholas the first Secretary-General.

The Asian AAA Constitution was accepted by the International Amateur Athletic Federation at its 29th Congress held in Rome from August 29 to 31, 1974. The name of the association was changed to Asian Athletics Association (AAA) at the 14th Congress of Asian Amateur Athletic Association (AAAA) in August 2002 in Colombo.

China, Japan and India have been the most successful nations in the history of the competition with 606, 540 and 282 medals respectively.

Previous Edition

Edition Year City Country Date Venue No. of Events No. of Nations No. of Athletes
I 1973 Marikina Philippines 18–23 Nov Rodriguez Sports Center 37 - -
II 1975 Seoul South Korea 9–14 June Dongdaemun Stadium 39 - -
III 1979 Tokyo Japan 31 May – 3 June National Olympic Stadium 38 - -
IV 1981 Tokyo Japan 5–7 June National Olympic Stadium 37 - -
V 1973 Kuwait City Kuwait 03–09 Nov Kuwait National Stadium 38 - -
VI 1985 Jakarta Indonesia 25–29 Sep Bung Karno Stadium 42 - -
VII 1987 Singapore Singapore 22–26 July National Stadium 40 - -
VIII 1989 New Delhi India 14–19 Nov Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium 40 - -
IX 1991 Kuala Lumpur Malaysia 19–23 Oct Stadium Merdeka 40 - -
X 1993 Manila Philippines 30 Nov – 4 Dec Rizal Memorial Stadium 41 - -
XI 1995 Jakarta Indonesia 20–24 Sep Bung Karno Stadium 41 - -
XII 1998 Fukuoka Japan 19–22 July Hakatanomori Athletic Stadium 43 - -
XIII 2000 Jakarta Indonesia 28–31 Aug Bung Karno Stadium 43 37 441
XIV 2002 Colombo Srilanka 9–12 Aug Sugathadasa Stadium 43 - -
XV 2003 Manila Philippines 20–23 Sep Rizal Memorial Stadium 43 - -
XVI 2005 Incheon South Korea 1–4 Sep Incheon Munhak Stadium 43 35 536
XVII 2007 Amman Jordon 25–29 July Amman International Stadium 44 34 -
XVIII 2009 Guangzhou China 10–14 Nov Olympic Stadium 44 37 505
XIX 2011 Kobe Japan 7–10 July Kobe Universiade Memorial Stadium 42 40 464
XX 2013 Pune India 3–7 July Shree Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex 42 42 522
XXI 2015 Wuhan China 3–7 June Wuhan Sports Center Stadium 42 40 497
XXII 2017 Bhubaneswar India 6–9 July Kalinga Stadium 42 45 -
Creative Commons License
This content and images are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License