AFI Logo

5th to 9th July in Association with AAA

Media Info

Media Accreditation

The Media accreditation applications can only be submitted ONLINE here at The applicants are requested to kindly read all the information provided below before starting their applications.

Last date for submitting the applications

*The deadline for all applicants is- 27th June 2017 (11:59pm IST)

IMPORTANT: The online entry form will not be accessible after the above-mentioned dates & timings. No on spot accreditations will be provided by the LOC.

Accreditation Categories

The accreditation will be provided as per following categories, kindly select the appropriate option while filling your online application form-

a) E- Journalist, editor, reporter employed or contracted by an international or national or regional news agency, a general daily newspaper and a sports magazine.

b) EP- A photographer employed or contracted by an international or national or regional news agency, a general daily newspaper and a sports magazine.

c) EW- Digital Journalist employed or contracted by an internet site, or an independent or freelance journalist under contract with an internet site.

d) ENR- A journalist of a non-rights holding radio and/or television organisation.

e) ENRT- Non-rights holding broadcasting Technician (No access into stadium, except mixed zone)

f) HB- Rights Holder (Television broadcast & radio)

g) FHB- Host Broadcaster (From other countries, if any)

Opening Ceremony passes:

The Opening Ceremony of the competition will be held on 5th July 2017 at the Kalinga Stadium. The accredited media persons will be provided one pass each in addition to their accreditation cards for attending the grand ceremony. Please be informed that your media accreditation card alone would not guarantee your entry inside the venue on the Opening Ceremony day. The passes can be collected from the Main Media Center situated at the Kalinga Stadium on the Opening Ceremony day.

Facilities & Services

Bhubaneswar, an ancient city of India, is the capital city of Eastern State of Odisha. The city is a tourist hub of the State and is very well connected to other metro cities of India such as Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata and Chennai by air. A large number of hotels ranging from budget hotels to five-star facilities are available in the city.

Media Accommodation

For visiting media personnel both from India and abroad, the following hotels are designated as Media Hotels. Due to limited numbers of rooms allotted for media in these hotels, you are advised to make your reservations in advance. The below mentioned Media Hotels will follow the “first come, first serve” policy for bookings. A complete list of accredited media persons will be provided to the hotels after the deadline is over for you to avail the below mentioned discounted rates in these hotels.

  • Mango Hotels Prangan (3 star)

  • Room rent for Accredited media persons: INR 2500/- per day (twin sharing/ no meals)
  • Address: 692, Opp Buddheshwari Temple, Puri - Cuttack Rd, Buddha Nagar,Laxmi Sagar, Bhubaneswar, Odisha- 751006
  • Website:
  • Contact: 0091-7064449002
  • Hotel Presidency (3 star)

  • Room rent for Accredited media persons: INR 2500/- per day (twin sharing/ no meals)
  • Address: 1471/A, Nayapalli, Bhubaneswar, Odisha 751015
  • Website:
  • Contact: 0091- 674 663 1313


A dedicated shuttle bus service (T-4 Buses) will be available for the movement of the accredited media persons.

  • Venue Shuttle Buses-

  • The T4 Shuttle Bus Service for media will be operational from 6th April to 9th April 2017 on two different routes-

    a) From Media Hotels to Kalinga Stadium and return

    b) From Bhubaneshwar Press Club to Kalinga Stadium and return

    The media shuttle services will commence one-hour prior to the start of the event on each day and will run at an interval of 30-minutes.

  • Transportation for Opening Ceremony-

  • On the 5th April 2017, special shuttle bus services will be operational two-hours prior to the Opening Ceremony from Bhubaneshwar Press Club to Kalinga Stadium and from Media Hotels to Kalinga Stadium. The busses will leave Bhubaneshwar Press Club and Media hotels every 30-minute. The service will stop half-an-hour before the start of the Opening Ceremony.

    The shuttle service will again be operational for return to Press Club and Media Hotels half-an-hour after the Opening Ceremony ends. The return buses will run at an interval of 30-minutes each after the ceremony.

Host Broadcaster Doordarshan

Prasar Bharati, through its constituent Doordarshan (DD), is the sole and exclusive Host Broadcaster for the 22nd Asian Athletics Championships- Bhubaneswar, Odisha from 6-9 July 2017. Doordarshan will undertake all the obligations of the Host Broadcaster for the Championships and will provide the basic feed of the event.

Doordarshan (literally ‘Tele-Vision’) is the public television broadcaster of India and a division of Prasar Bharati, a public service broadcaster nominated by the Government of India. It is one of the largest broadcasting organisations in the world in terms of infrastructure and has recently started digital terrestrial transmission.

Television news access rules for 22nd Asian Athletics Championships- Bhubaneswar July 5-9, 2017: CLICK HERE

Indian Visa:

For visa related queries and procedure to obtain Indian Visa, CLICK HERE

Instructions: Please keep all the required documents asked in the application ready before starting your application. The applications can not be edited or modified once submitted. Hence, you are requested to kindly check the form once before starting your application. Incomplete applications will be rejected.


  • Indian Media

  • QUOTA: A maximum of TWO (2) journalists and TWO (2) photographers/camera persons can apply for accreditation from each media organisation/agency based in India.

    Foreign Media Person employed/posted in India are required to furnish additional details in the form such as a scanned copy of Passport details and valid Indian Visa.


  • International Media (AAA Member Federations)

  • QUOTA: A maximum of THREE (3) media persons including journalists/editors/photographers/camera persons can apply for the accreditation with the ACCESS CODES provided to each member federation of the Asian Athletics Association (AAA). To get an ACCESS CODE for Online Accreditation Form, kindly contact the National Federation of your country.


  • Other International Media (Non-AAA Member Federations)

  • Media persons belonging to countries other than AAA Member Federations interested in covering the 22nd Asian Athletics Championships (Bhubaneswar 6-9 July, 2017) may also send a request to receive an ACCESS CODE for the Online Accreditation Form to However, such requests must contain a scanned copy of a letter of approval duly signed by the President/Secretary of your National Federation.


Creative Commons License
This content and images are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License